h1

Houston Rose Society Celebrates 50 Years

July 10, 2009
Is this a peace rose?

Is this a peace rose?

Last night at the Houston Garden Center, the Houston Rose Society celebrated its 50th anniversary. What a good group. They are committed to making the considerable information they’ve acquired available to anyone who shares their interest.

Past president were introduced; it looked to me like serious gardeners age slowly.

Dr. William Welch was a treat. He showed pictures of the most beautiful roses in all kinds of settings.  He likes climbing roses so we saw trellises and gates loaded with blooms. He has championed old roses and likes to find and identify roses in old gardens and cemeteries. Amazon is sending me his book, Antique Roses for the South.

I took the photo of the rose inserted above in France. I would love to have this rose in one of  the 6 pots my balcony/patio will hold.

Leave a comment